What the heck is a “greeding e-card”?

If you are like me you are probably getting tired of all the spam in your email Inbox. By now you probably know that it is mostly by people who would like to steal your identity. People who are obviously not of this country or are not of a level of intelligence to be sending junk mail or spam like this. Their intent, obviously, is to get you to click on the bogus link in their email so that you can be taken to a bogus website where they will try diligently to get you to click on porn links or links of what they think are of interest, as if that would be possible. Don’t DO it!

Please pardon the terminology that I am about to use. I don’t know about you but I get very annoyed by, what I can only describe as morons, assuming that I might be stupid enough to believe their often misspelled and broken-english emails.

Here is one that I just got today that was sent to one of my email addresses, which is NOT the email address that appears in the Dear field. That email address isn’t even one of mine.

The From Field contained:
From: “Ali Bailey” (etruriakp9@sdgoth.org)

The Subject line reads:
Your friend has made you an greeding e-card at 123greetings.com

I dissected the email and The body of the email reads:
Dear dmcconnell@capstv.org,

Your friend has made you an greeding e-card

Your e-card will be available with us for the next 30 days. If you wish to keep the e-card longer, you may save it on your computer or take a print.

To view a copy of the e-card you have sent click on the following Internet address or copy & paste it into your browser’s address box.

http://76380.webhosting29.1blu.de/djellow.exe

Best wishes,

Postmaster,

Did you notice that “an greeding e-card” showed up both on the Subject line and in the body of the email? And, “Ali Bailey” (etruriakp9@sdgoth.org) is a Postmaster?!? It doesn’t even show that the email came from 123greetings.com which, by the way, is an actual greeting card site.

What in the world are these people thinking? What the heck is a “greeding e-card” anyway? And if you read closely, why would you want “To view a copy of the e-card you have sent…” if it was one that your friend had just sent to you?

I know that none of my customers and loyal readers would be dumb enough to fall prey to anything like this. All these morons are doing is making us less likely to click on any email, even if they are legitimate, that we don’t recognize. Unfortunately, this is what I have to recommend anyway these days and I am sure that legitimate businesses are the ones who lose out because of this. When will they stop the insanity?

I hope that you will pardon my acrimony. If you get emails like this and they insult your intelligence as this one, of many, insulted my intelligence then please share your thoughts on this matter. Maybe one day we will be able to get someone to do something about it.

Frank P Verdusco
CPU Help

3 comments to What the heck is a “greeding e-card”?

  • Terry

    Here’s some (sometimes) hilarious stuff from people taking on the spammers and other assorted scammers: http://www.419eater.com/ and http://www.scamorama.com/

  • Thanks Terry,

    I couldn’t get the 419eater.com to come up but the scamorama.com is great!

    Frank

  • grootveld

    I, in Holland got this (probably spam) mail below:

    from: webmaster @ Greedings.com
    subject: You have received a E-card greeding !

    Hello friend !
    You have just received a postcard Greeting from someone who cares about you…

    Just click here [links to http : //89.248.102.42/postcard.exe] to receive your Animated Greeting !
    Thank you for using www . Greetings.com services !!!
    Please take this opportunity to let your friends hear about us by sending them a postcard from our collection !